I've hit a wall! (Read 458 times)

Ravish

So I'm fairly new to the running thing. I'm quite fit in general, but only started running about 6 weeks ago.

I run 5km 4 times a week and in the beginning I enjoyed it, only getting a little out of breath towards the end. Now however, even though I don't get as tired as I did in the beginning, right from the start everything between my knees and my ankles hurt (shins and calves). Even stopping to walk when it gets too bad hurts. I can feel I'm getting fitter, but I can't seem to cross this pain-wall!

What would be the best way to push through this? Run more? Run less? Run further? Slower? Faster?

Help! Dead

PS: I didn't change anything. Same route, same shoes, same time of day.

an amazing likeness

Not a lot of info to work with from your message post...I think you've shared that you run ~20km per week, and that you've got shin, ankle, calf and foot pain in some combination.  Hope that's close.

First of, there's aches and pains and normal soreness from training -- that's to be expected. But pain shouldn't be a routine part of your runs. If you're in pain from running, then you need to find the cause and change something.

Be sure you're not hammering each run as an all-out 'race' -- run mostly easy, and that you've got the right shoes for your feet and gait. That's all I can offer.

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

Ravish

Thanks for the reply.

The pain is there irregardless of pace. I started out at 5.5 min/km and the pain has now forced me to slow that down to 7 min/km, but it doesn't make a difference.

I am planning to see an expert about the correct shoes for me. Any other information I can supply you with to assist me?

Karen M