Bike (Read 1371 times)

Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

Okay, I am totally new to this biking thing. Biked home from work today, 97 degrees, 8 miles, 35 minutes, gently rolling with some traffic stops. Pack on my back. I have NO idea what kinds of paces I should shoot for or expect. Any framwork that somebody could provide would be helpful. My legs felt funny after I was done Big grin

Team HTFU NCTR Driver

OK, Mr. Eight Marathons Last Year, you'll be pleased to know that the only muscles that you'll use the same way on the bike are your heart and your diaphragm! There's just no good way to equate running and biking, and "they" say that, if you bike 8 hours a week, it'll take three years to reach the best fitness you can reach by biking 8 hours a week (in other words, to improve from there, you'll have to add more riding time). I'd guess that your cardiovascular fitness is such that a heart rate monitor wouldn't do much for you until you get some bike-specific strength. My comfortable training pace, which I can maintain pretty easily and carry on a decent conversation, is roughly 18 mph. My solo rides typically average anywhere from 16-19 miles an hour; for the 100 mile ride I did end of July, I averaged 17. I have run zero marathons, but I do have 27" quads. YMMV. I never really shoot for a pace; I find that just going by feel works just fine - and you can totally change one portion of a ride without messing up the rest of it. It takes me a solid 10 miles to feel warmed-up; then, almost anything goes - continue loafing along, go find some hills and see if I can get my heart to explode, chase cars, go long, hold a tempo, try to get lost, whatever. My suggestion would be to focus on being smooth and relaxed on the bike. Keep your cadence up - shoot for 90-100 rpm - and pick your gear to set your effort level. Mostly, though, just have fun. Everything else will take care of itself. did

Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey