Just started running after four years off and .... (Read 220 times)

Rafen317

Its so much harder than I remember haha. I stopped running because college and work seem to be taking over my life and I started skipping run days then finally just quit running when it got cold about 4 years ago. Now I graduated from school and I am trying to get myself back into shape. I ran one mile on Sunday and tried to run another one today and that was a no go. So I think I might have to start one of those plans like C25K to get myself back into shape. Well that has been my running experience over the last couple days and I just wanted to say I'm glad I joined this forum and I'm looking forward to getting to know as many of you as I can.

Thanks,

Rafen317

Hey,

I am not familiar with the C25k but I ran something similar for my full marathon I am sure.  Running a training plan helps alot with the motivation and discipline.  I say pick an easy running plan and if its too easy for you, jump to the intermediate level etc..  Maybe pick a local 5k race to build up some excitement and to have a date / goal to finish.  Good luck !

5k  = 19.48 10/1/13

10k  = 45.28 4/16/13

Half Marathon = 1:38.53  Summer Sizzle 7/13/14

Operation Jack Marathon 12/26/12  4:39.11

Solo O Marathon 06/02/13  3:52:10

Operation Jack Marathon 12/26/13 3:40.34

Mostly harmless

It's hard starting over again. Again.  I've done it a few times.  If a structured plan would help you, then go for the C25K or something similar.  If you are a good self starter, then start with a combination of running and walking until you build up a little stamina.  If you are stubborn about running the entire workout, then I suggest counting time instead of distance for a while.  Set a goal like running for 10 minutes (slowly) without stopping.  Once you can do that try for 12 and then 15, etc...

Whatever you do, just try to keep it fun. If it becomes too much like torture you'll quit.