starting doubles (Read 1513 times)

I'm thinking about incorporating doubles (running twice in one day) into my training. I've been running between 25 and 30 miles a week for about 5 years. Over that time, my weekly mileage has increased at times when I was training for a half marathon or marathon, and has decreased to about 20 miles/week when I play hockey in the winter. I run 5 days a week. I've been pondering adding a sixth day, but I thought I would try doubles first. I would like to add the doubles to help me in my goal of decreasing my 5k (21:59) and 10k (47:29) PRs, which were both set in 2004 during half marathon training. Last summer, I ran mostly 5ks, and most of my times were around 22:45, with one 22:26. In the last few months, I've been pretty consistently running 5 miles 3-4 times a week at lunch, and then getting in one more run on the weekend. I'm thinking about taking one or two days a week and dropping the lunch mileage down to 3 miles and adding another run after work. Does anyone have any advice on adding doubles? Does my plan seem reasonable, or do you think I'd be better off with a different approach? I've got about a month before my summer track workouts start, and I'd like to figure out a plan for the summer by then.