Intervals? (Read 171 times)

ckerr1999

I need to start incorporating intervals into my training. I have been running for almost 3 years now and have neglected doing speed work. I read Spaniel's post on intervals but am wondering what i should start out with and how long my rest in between should be. I am thinking 12x400s with a 1 minute rest, then work up to 800s, 1200s, and 1600s?? I have been sick the last two week so hence the gap in my log. Still not 100% recovered but with a fall marathon looming can't afford to miss much more training. Thanks

Personally, I would start with a four to six weeks of short hill sprints(starting with 4 x 8 sec with full recovery, twice per week). Then work into fartleks. I cant say I'm a fan of intervals, but they work for many people. I guess it depends on how you want to approach it and what type of runner you are. Strides / hill sprints might be all that is needed for marathon training, not intervals.

And we run because we like it
      Through the broad bright land

kilkee

runktrun