Thinking of getting some flats (Read 2199 times)

Runner

After taking part in the favorite shoe thread it got me to thinking of how good of an idea it would be to try racing flats. I've been running for two years seriously now and wear Asics Nimbus 9's more than any shoe. I'm a supinator and a forefoot striker. I weight 165 give or take a few pounds and that is on a 5'11" frame. I'm still not sure they are for me but I think I'd like to try them. I like the looks of the asics hyperspeed 2's because of good luck I've had with asics. I especially like the 6.6 ounces vs. the 12.4 ounces of the Nimbus. I'm looking for other people's experiences when they used the flats. Did injuries become more frequent/ or just arise? How much did you run in them to begin? What brands did you try? What distance do you think it is a good idea to race in them? Also feel free to throw in any other good pertinent information! Smile Thanks!

2010 Races: Snicker's Marathon(2:58:38), Scenic City Trail Marathon(3:26:36), Laurel Highlands Ultra 77(19:13:44), Ironman Louisville(13:07:07) 2011 Races: Mount Cheaha 50k 5:22:47, Tobacco Road Marathon, Mohican 100 Miler

C-R