Pes Anserine Bursitis and cramping (Read 226 times)

stshipley

Hello all!

For about 6-8 weeks, I have had Pes Anserine Bursitis in my right knee. This is an odd injury to me as I've been running for about 25 years without anything like it.

I trained for and ran a half marathon in March, totally injury free, and then took 5 months off to deal with child care issues. I started running again in August, and on my first run I nearly twisted my left ankle, and had to ditch in the road, falling very hard on my *left* side, with road rash on my left shoulder, my face and *both* knees. At that time I did not detect any problems with anything other than a slight sprain of the left ankle, and my skin (and my ego), and I was able to train normally running easy, maybe 3 days a week, low mileage, slow pace. In September I started to increase my mileage and effort slightly, and near the end of the month is when the Pes Anserine Bursitis started. In October, I had it officially diagnosed with an orthopedist, who did take X-rays of the knee joint, and he gave me a cortisone shot in the bursar sack, and prescribed a NSAID (diclofenac)). I also have been icing and using a heat pad, and stretching the calves, hamstrings and quads more thoroughly. I felt well enough after two weeks to run a 5K at race pace. A week after that, I felt nearly any pain at all.

But just when I though I had it licked, I took a run up a steep hill, and I could feel a sudden tightening behind the knee . . . I'm calling it a cramp, a tight squeeze behind the knee . . . can't tell if it was hamstring or calf, and it continued to "freeze" on several strides up the hill. Reducing pace enabled me to finish, but the bursitis flared back up.