Whoops! Bigger race than I thought... (Read 1038 times)

I totally misunderstood a friend's invite to run a half marathon relay. I thought the total distance was to be split between the six runners. Now I have found out that all runners do the 13 miles and they keep the best 5 and add them together!!! I have never run more than a 5 mile race and although I've been training for the Broad Street Run, I'm not quite there yet. The race is in two weeks. Should I back out or just do my best? Is there a way to improve and be close to being ready by then? Any ideas?? I'm kind of new to races outside of the 5k world.

Michelle

Nothing you do in the last two weeks before a half marathon is really going to help, so don't try to cram in any extra training. The last long run before a half marathon should probably be no later than two weeks to 10 days before the race. You say that your longest race is 5 miles, but what about your training runs? You might want to make your log public so that we can see how you've been training. Thirteen miles is a distance worthy of respect, but if you have comfortably finished a training run of 10 miles or more in the last month, theres a good chance that you could run a decent half. We really need more info about your training, though, before anyone could give a fully informed opinion.

How To Run a Marathon: Step 1 - start running. There is no Step 2.

A half marathon is a long way to go if you're not used to the distance. Trying to run that far, particularly in a race when adrenaline starts flowing, can cause an injury before you even realize it. Personally I probably wouldn't do it, but if I did I would not be at all ashamed to walk as much as I needed to.
        Fortitudine Vincimus - "By endurance we conquer,"