2013 Sub-19 5K (Read 1932 times)

19:10 today for 2nd overall.  I once again experienced the hamstring tightness I've been fighting for the last 5 months every time I try to go fast. I'm still pleased with the results, but I'm tired of fighting the hamstring.

I'm gonna take a whack at a really HARD 5k this Saturday.  I've not seen/run the course before and have no clue if it's PR-friendly ... but it's time to let go of safety and put it on the line.

DNS -- a painful knee yesterday evening and night, and continuing SAT morning had me scratch.  Sigh.

Going to re-schedule for a local FRI-evening race.

"I want you to pray as if everything depends on it, but I want you to prepare yourself as if everything depends on you."

-- Dick LeBeau

csab

mnyce, CliveF: Sorry that your bodies are ruining your chances. I'm not sure if that's better or worse than running hard, when you just can't go any faster.

I ran a half marathon in the weekend and I crossed the 5K line at 19:23. I was running pretty relaxed at the point which tells me that it should be pretty easy for me to run sub-19. I should just sign up for a race finally!

nickshawn

Sir Mix a Lot

18:57 this weekend. Had a weak 2nd mile but overall I'll take it considering the last few months.

lots of great race results on here, keep up the good work.

Way to hang on and get it done, nickshawn!

"I want you to pray as if everything depends on it, but I want you to prepare yourself as if everything depends on you."

-- Dick LeBeau

Future running partner.

I'll go in on this. Although I haven't even broken 20 yet since I was in HS. My PR is only 20:17. I have a 5k coming up a week from Saturday. So my main goal is to get under 20, but the way my workouts have been going lately, I feel like there is a chance for me to go sub-19.

csab

Way to go nickshawn! Congratulations!