To miss or do in the morning. (Read 579 times)

Another probably pretty obvious queston to you experienced guys but here goes anyway. 

I increased my running from 3-4 days a week to a 5 day a week schedule. I have planned my schedule trying to consider things that would normally interfere with me getting my shoes on.  Work, kids commitments, you know the usual life in general.  Well tonight I have a banquet for my daughters hockey team that I have been coaching for a few years and I will have to skip my scheduled easy 5K. 

What I need to know is should I double up tomorrow?  Should I head out before work for my easy 5 and then my scheduled 6.2K after dinner.  I know its not a big difference but I'm still working up to a more substantial mileage difference.

Or should I just skip the 5 and call it a REALLY easy day?

My sport's your sport's punishment

2012 goals

100 Km month         150 K month      200K month

5K run    10K run     20K run              30K run

sub 30 min 5K         sub 55min 10K

This is a "tree" question. Running's about the forest.

The key to long term success in this sport is staying consistent without being obsessive. Hard to do. Strike the balance, go with the flow, be the ball. If you miss today, you run tomorrow. Somedays you get the bear, somedays the bear gets you. 

Generally speaking, trying to make up for missed workouts or sessions is a bad idea.

Feeling the growl again

Trying to "catch up" on a workout is a lot like trying to make up for missed sleep.  Sure, you can sleep more the next day, but it's not the same.  Missed is missed.