Starting Situps (Read 1596 times)

danielwinter

I've got a pot belly (not due to overeating or too much drinking, it's been there all my life!) and I'm finally trying to get rid of it. I don't know my weight, but the last time I went to the doc's I was normal and healthy, so my eating habits seem to be fine. In order to get rid of my belly, I've started running a little: 3k over 20 mins, a little portion uphill, four days a week. Nothing amazing, but I am just starting out :P I'm hoping that'll reduce my fat a little. Cool But what about situps? I know they won't reduce the fat on my tummy, but they'll help to complement the running and add some shape there, I'm hoping. So for a beginner, what should my weekly situp regimen be? Is there anything else I could be doing to lose some of that centralised fat? -Daniel P.S. And the irony is, the rest of my body is stick thin :P
      I've got a pot belly (not due to overeating or too much drinking
      I'd be willing to bet that this is exactly why its there. There are no magic bullets. As always, to get rid of fat - you must burn more calories than you consume. Will the situps help? Sure a little. And you might get some nice looking abs out of the deal - after you reduce your body fat. Some posters that follow will say things like "muscles burn more", HIIT, carb this, protein that, mumbo, jumbo, and blah blah blah - and some of it will be true. Mostly they will just be clouding the simple truth. Eat less and do more.
      Is there anything else I could be doing to lose some of that centralised fat?
      Yep. Run more.

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

Dave