What is your cadence on your long runs? (Read 1019 times)

Junior Amphibian

I've read that all training paces should be run at the same cadence, which is around 180. That seems reasonable for intervals and tempo runs, but shouldn't easy and long runs be considerably slower and relaxed? I don't think how I would be able to sustain 180 bpm for more than 30 minutes.

"People ask why I run. I say, 'If you have to ask, you will never understand'. It is something only those select few know. Those who put themselves through pain, but know, deep down, how good it really feels." - Erin Leonard

Mile Collector

Abs of Flabs

When I started training for my first marathon, I knew nothing about carbo loading or the 180 cadence thing. I also started my training on a treadmill. I used to run 10 miles on a treadmill on a Friday night. Fun stuff. Nowadays, my cadence is around 184 steps per minute. It wasn't like that when I first started. I noticed that as I got tired, my stride shortened but since I was on the treadmill, I had to increase my cadence in order to keep up with the belt. I happened upon the 180 thing on my own. Maybe you too will do that as you up your mileage.

Half Fanatic #846

My natural long run cadence averages 174 - I didn't train for it or alter it (I'm a slow runner, but maybe I take short steps). The only reason that I know it's 174 is because I often run long on the dreadmill and count my steps once in awhile to help pass the time. I'm sure it's more in a short race, and less in a long one. And different still on a hilly route. If it was 160 or 200, that would be fine too. I can't train like the elites do because I would stay injured all the time if I tried, although I could do 180, but why? Not all elites do that anyway - that's just an average reported cadence for them. But it might be interesting to see if anyone here has a really "slow" or "fast" pace, whatever that is and what the average non-elite pace might be just in general terms. Smile