New runner with ankle pain (Read 109 times)

amandaruns29

Hey all. Smile I'm very new to running, even hesitant to call myself a runner, but I've found a few issues and needed somewhere for feedback.

Since September of last year, I've been kickboxing/strength training and have dropped about 50 lbs. I've been overweight all my life, and never exercised consistently, so this has all been very exciting to me. I now teach kickboxing and resistance bands classes at my gym and love it. Over the past year I've tried to run occasionally, but could never run a mile without stopping so I hated it. Before I started my weight loss my run/walk time (emphasis on walk) was 13:57.

About two months ago I decided to try the mile and ran without stopping at 10:47. Slow, but I was in shock that I didn't stop once. I thought it was a fluke but tried it again about 3.5 weeks ago and again ran without stopping at 10:33. I decided I would try running and have been at it ever since. I have a lot of encouragement from other runners at the gym, so we've been running a few times before classes in the morning, and I can go about 1.5-2 miles at this point without walking break, at a slow pace (11.5-12 min/mi).

My problem is my ankles. The other night I went for a run and stamina-wise, I felt like I wasn't done and that I could've kept going. I was hoping to finally break two miles, maybe go for 2.5 miles, but had to stop at about 1.5 because my ankles felt terrible. I've been bouncing around doing kickboxing for a year, so I thought they'd be conditioned. I was fitted for proper running shoes, I've tried ankle compression socks (the pain was worse with them on), and I tried a couple days of KT tape.