1000 Mile Club

New Member looking for a home (Read 249 times)

skinnycaponesugar

Hi All! I've been running since Dec07, which isn't very long. I completed C25K and ran my first 5K on 16March. I'm looking for motivation and advice as I'm hoping to add a day and a long run every week (after a few weeks). I'm a slow runner but I'm willing to put the miles. Cheers! Big grin

Love, Run, Sleep

My Hero

Congratulations. You are doing great. The thing that keeps me motivated is continuing to see improvements. Going out and running that same 4 mile loop faster than I did a month ago with less effort is encouraging. Patience is a key in distance running. I have been running consistently now for 4 years and (believe it or not) am beginning to finally feel like I'm getting in shape. You are very consistent with your running. You are probably at a level now where, instead of taking 2 days off between every run, try to run every other day. I wouldn't increase the length of any these runs for about 6-8 weeks and let your body adapt to this new stress before increasing the distance. After the 6-8 weeks of running every other day and you feel comfortable with that, take (1) of your 4 mile runs and turn it into a 6 miler. Then, if that goes ok, slowly add distance to that (1) run a week. Good luck, Tom
      Teresadfp

One day at a time