2000Km-1243 mile club

Weekly check-in: 6-12 Sep. (Read 356 times)

One last Tri for me tomorrow morning then I'm going back to run focus for the winter.  This year of experimenting with tri's has been fun but I'm not sure I can maintain the amount of training needed to be competitve.  At least I accomplished my goal of an age group award for tri's in my first year.  I'll do my best for another tomorrow, but it's a big field so chances aren't very good.

Dutchie -  I've been coming up with some goals for 2011.  Focusing on running over tri's with some lofty goals in all my distances.  I've found the planning process to be very motivational.  I've got a bunch of written schedules and interim goals laid out.  Maybe some new goals would give you the kick in the pants (trousers - or however you say it on that side of the pond) that you need to get back out there.

HappyFeat

Good luck tomorrow, Jeff!

I ran my 13 miles today, but had to stop in the middle of mile 10 to stretch out my right hamstring. It was giving me an increasing sharp pain medial right  knee  and clearly wasn't going away unless I stretched. Dang! I wanted to make it all the way through without stopping! Still it was a vast improvement over last weekend. I kept trying to focus on my posture, trying to relax , and settle into a comfortable pace.  I thought about adding on a mile to make 14 since I felt okay through the 13th; but found that I had only mentally prepared for 13 and completely fell apart when that was done. I made it to 13.4 and gave up. 

Don't make excuses for why you can't get it done. 

Focus on all the reasons why you must make it happen.

Dutchie42

Thanks guys. Did a 2.2K doggie run yesterday and a 12.88K "long run" this morning. Very tight lower calfs. That's what I get for skipping three runs.

Running is still a chore, but at least I went and did it.

Heffa: I have my Vancouver marathon to look forward to in May. It's not helping me any right now.