3650 Miles in the Hurtlocker

If only I knew.... (Read 56 times)

How many things are out there that you tell yourself, "If only I knew then what I know now..."?

There are too many to count for me but at least I'm still learning.  I had this revelation recently on how too much shoe for me is a bad thing.  I bought my last pair of trainers (Gel Nimbus) last October and also got a pair that is a step above a racing flat (Kinvara's) at the same time.  As I rotated between shoes, I noticed a big difference in how I run.  With the Kinvara's, I'm much more in tune with my footstrike and tend to land the "proper" way.  I think I tend to be more lazy in trainers as the feeling is hidden due to the cushioning.

What highlighted the above is what I've been working on with my footstrike.  My biggest crutch over the years have been achilles issues.  Overstriding and heel striking have been the culprit.  I read ChiRunning last year and have worked on a few things with that.  My posture/form has always been OK, so I focused on stride length, cadence and footstrike.  With all of the work, I am so much further along than I ever have been in nearly 12 years of consistent, injury free running.

With all of the work, I am so much further along than I ever have been in nearly 12 years of consistent, injury free running.

Excellent!  Glad to hear the issues are getting smaller in the rearview mirror.

I've been doing something similar, although not as formalized.  It's tough to say whether it's helped greatly.  I think my legs are less injury-prone, especially my formerly "weakest-link" lower legs.  I do still accumulate workload stress in the calves and Achilles, but not as much as before.  And I'm certainly running more miles and more days/week than before, too.

"I want you to pray as if everything depends on it, but I want you to prepare yourself as if everything depends on you."

-- Dick LeBeau

Slo

Somewhat on subject.