50 and over 5k and beyond

New over 50 runner, first 5k done, now what? (Read 21 times)

Fletch

In September, on a whim, I decided to enter the Reindeer Fun Run 5k in Aberdeen, NC.  It's local, for a good cause, and seemed like a fun event.  And I was looking for a way to get in a little better shape.  The problem was that the only running I had done in the last 30 years was if someone were chasing me.  So, as a 51 year old grandpa, I started training (after a little web-surfing for C25k plans).  Long story short, I loosely followed a plan to prepare, and ran the Reindeer Run 5k this past Saturday.  Finished in 31:39, with a 90 second walk break at about the 3.5k mark.

So here's where I am now...I enjoy running, but I'm not obsessed with it.  I have no desire, at this time, to step up to marathons or HM's.  Would possibly consider training for, and running in the 12k race on Reindeer Fun Run day, sometime in the future.  However, for now, I would like to keep running in 5k races, but I want to make sure I have realistic expectations.

There's a 5k scheduled for the last week of April, 2014, that I am considering entering. That gives me about 19 weeks.  I typically run 3 times per week, and don't do much on the off days in between.  Can someone recommend a training plan that would get my time somewhere in the 25-27 minute range for that April 5k (if that's even realistic)?  Should I do interval training?  How crucial is cross training on off days? If cross training is vital, can someone recommend a program (preferably to be done at home - if I have to go to the gym, I'm not likely to stick with it)?

Bottom line is, I'm enjoying running, and want to get better.  I'm glad I found this forum, and look forward to your advice, and to sharing my journey with you.

justrundan

Welcome Fletch_NC!  You've found a great group here.  There are certainly more experienced runners on this board, but I'll make some general recommendations.