50 and over 5k and beyond

Runs & Workouts, Week Ending 8/4/13 (Read 8 times)

saratg

Okay, so this is not the venue for getting encouragement to run on a treadmill!  I'll add this forum to my motivational incentives for the transition to outdoor running.  I run in minimalist shoes:  Atlra's or the new Saucony version.  I'm a graduate of Brooks Beast & other shoes designed for heavier runners, but they really aren't good for me.  I battle peripheral neuropathy & I need the ground feel a minimal shoes gives me.  I don't have running-related joint pain, since I'm EXTREMELY careful not to mask any twinges with painkillers.  I get a twinge, I find an exercise to strengthen the complaining muscle/joint.  I have no illusions that I can just throw on a pair of running shoes and head out for a 5 mi. run like I did in my twenties.

Art- I count every calorie that goes in my mouth.  Not too many required at my age, even with exercise.  I've been losing weight consistently for the past 18-24 months.  Probably a total of 50lbs, so far.  It gets harder to lose the closer you get to your goal.  I feel like I'm constantly having to "kick it up a notch".  In addition to the running/erging 3-4x/week, I swim 1-1 1/2 miles 5x/week.  I love it, but it's all time consuming & I work FT.  I have friends who say they hate to exercise.  I'm grateful that I've always enjoyed it.

NH Runner

Friday, 8/2

6 miles today, the first 2 on the local railtrail, then 4 on pavement.  I'm experiencing a little tightness in my lower right leg I assume is caused by the switch to zero drop shoes and barefoot running.   It's improving, but visits every time I run.

sara... by all means post your treadmill runs here.  Not being familiar with your running history, I didn't know if you'd ever even experienced a run outside.   It's all good, a treadmill run gives you the same aerobic workout you get outside.