Beginners and Beyond

Santa Rosa (CA) HM - RR with a few pics in living color! (Read 82 times)

Jack K.

uʍop ǝpᴉsdn sǝʇᴉɹʍ ʇI

Who: Jack Klompus (DW Doris ran the marathon)

What: Santa Rosa HM

Why: DW wanted to try for a BQ before the application window so I went along and ran the HM

Where: Santa Rosa, CA

When: August 24, 2014

Background:  When I started training for the HM my goal was to run a 7:10 pace which would have given me a 1:33 and change.  One morning, about three or four weeks into it, I got up to run and I could barely hobble my way to two miles. The pain in my right light was so intense the only time it would stop was when I stopped. It even hurt when I walked.  Long story short, it turned out I have piriformis, the injury that is literally “a pain in the butt.”  My running basically stopped and the only thing I could do was roll and stretch (thanks for the tips, Baboon).  Needless to say, my training and goal were done at that time.  After a few days I resumed running, but my mpw came down to 15-25 mpw from 45.  I was mad, but whatever, injuries are part of the game, I suppose.  Now my goal was to run the race based on how I felt on race day, finish without stopping, and have fun.

Pre-race: Santa Rosa is about a seven hour drive north for us, so we took off Friday and had a nice road trip together. DS is still home from university so the kids stayed home alone and took care of everything. They are good kids.  My cousin lives up in a city called Pleasonton so we stayed overnight with her and her two kids. That night her brother (another cousin, duh) and his wife came over for dinner and the three of us went out to a bar for some beer. Normally I would not do that on a race weekend but my plans of a PR were shot so what the hell. I had a few pints of Lagunitas and even sang two karaoke songs; “Lips Like Sugar” and “Ring of Fire.”