Beginners and Beyond

Shamrock 2013 (Read 535 times)

I just saw this thread... The Shamrock was my first Marathon ever back in 2011, I did the Half in 2012, and now I have gone full speed again and will do the Full in 2013.  My longest run ever in 2011 prior to the race was 12 miles, so I paid dearly after mile 13!  Today I just ran a 21-mile practice run, so I will be going into this race much better prepared.

I live right here in Virginia Beach, VA, great city and a great race!  I am not good at hotels and all that, most of you guys probably have more information than I do in that regard, but I might able to help suggest some decent restaurants or places to meet up for the FE.  It kind of depends on what folks are looking for pricewise, cuisinewise, etc. :-)  But me and the spouse started a goal a few years ago called "52 Restaurants in 52 weeks where we picked a different place to eat each week + would keep a business card from each one for her photobook, so I have been to many of the places to eat in VB and could provide some feedback on some restaurant suggestions.

Hard to believe March is coming up so fast!  Time for everyone to kick that training into full gear :-)

The Plan '15 →   ///    "Run Hard, Live Easy."   ∞

Little Blue

I just noticed this thread and didn't read all the responses, but wanted to let you know about a hotel that works well (we've done the race several times).  There is a Days Inn at 2417 Atlantic Avenue, ocean front, and you can see the finish line tents from your balcony.  It looks like there are rooms available, not cheap, but I put in arrive 3/15 and leave 31/8 and it did have a few options, at around $100/night.  If anyone is still looking, check it out.  It was a perfectly acceptable place when we stayed there.

Vegan Ang

Formerly sdnyc99

BUMP!

It's getting closer!!

Angela 

Jess runs for bacon

Yay I'm getting excited!! I learned how to make a tutu this weekend and I shall be rocking a green one in the half Smile