Beginners and Beyond

Battling Piriformis. Any recommendations? (Read 80 times)

EasyMiles

I'm nearing the end of my marathon cycle and have been battling piriformis for about a month.  Up until the last 3 weeks I was running around 70 mile weeks, with my peak week at 80 miles.  This is my first time with this and have been stretching, icing and taking Advil, all of which help.  I have a message scheduled for Tuesday.  

Unfortunately this has kept me from running  much in the last 3 weeks and am starting to feel the marathon slip away.  Just hoping for any recommendations of what I could do beyond what I have done already to at least salvage the marathon.  Does anyone know of a great stretch or exercise to improve the irritation quickly.

LRB

Posted in order of effectiveness, using the the third one only when my ass is on fiyah!

Mmmmm...beer

The middle stretch that LRB posted is what worked for me, but slightly modified.  Scoot to the edge of the chair and then put your right arm (assuming the same position as the picture) between your legs and your left arm on the outside of your left leg, that will allow you to stretch further down.

-Dave

My running blog

Goals | sub-18 5k | sub-3 marathon 2:56:46!!

Just B.S.

I had a most horrible case of piriformis back in 2005 (which I made the stupid mistake of ignoring

and continuing to run until I was in so much pain I couldn't sit on that cheek) that kept me from 

running for 3 months.

That was the only time in my 14 years of running that an injury has kept me from running. I learned

a lot from that experience.

I have been able to manage it over the years by not running too many miles, paying close attention

to how it feels especially at the end of a marathon cycle,  cycling several times a week plus an almost

fanatically strict stretching regime.

I do all of those stretches daily. Another good one is to modify the bottom one to a position where you