Beginners and Beyond

Hit by a vehicle.......on my bike this time......I'm at a loss for words... (Read 184 times)

redrum

Caretaker/Overlook Hotel

I apologize in advance for hijacking with biking news but I'm out of sorts & as a RW/RA vet, I'm venting anyway.......

So, I'm what...... a week and a half into my new bike and it's totaled!!  (No joke!)

I was hit by a truck (Ford F350 turning right w/ me coming on the left side of the road turning for home). The guy didn't look right, only left & pulled out right in front of me & because the truck was so long I just had nowhere to go. I hit the door & under the truck I went. Fortunately he hit the brakes before I was run over by the rear wheels. I'm scraped, banged up & bloody but otherwise OK.

Immediately traded insurance info w/ the guy who was shaken but didn't think he should do anything as I was riding on the wrong side of the road. Well, duh, I was 2 minutes from the house, I have to cross the street some time.  And I'm on a bicycle and you're in an F350!!!!! 

I went directly from the scene to the bike shop I bought it from and the guy immediately noticed my right rear seat stay was bent. He declared it totaled.   (thus my rear brakes would not let go of the wheel). I tried everything in my power to keep from going down but couldn't stop in time.

Anywho.....I don't know exactly what to do but in the meantime I've ordered a duplicate bike to be assembled & ready to go tomorrow at the original bike shop. I bought it w/ a Costco Amex so since the driver is less than receptive to helping out, I told Amex what happened & they may very well cover the whole thing. (I did this a couple years ago w/ a laptop I bought my mother & they were great). New bike will be ridden tomorrow come heck or high water.

I'm just so pissed right now I could spit!  If anybody has advice, I'm all ears.  (The guy is not receptive & offered me $25 at the scene.  I laughed & told him that might cover some new brake pads) 

Randy