Beginners and Beyond

Thoughts on this HM training plan? (Read 50 times)

Jill.

Penguin Power!

I'm looking for a HM plan that builds up to somewhere in the neighborhood of 40-45 miles per week.  I've found this one: http://www.digitalrunning.com/intermediate-half-marathon-training/ but I'm not really sure what to think of it.  The fact that it just builds mileage for the first 14 weeks with no cutbacks at all doesn't seem to make sense to me.  But I am a complete newbie when it comes to this stuff, so I figured I'd ask the experts :-)

I like that the plan is 5 days per week because that's what I've been running lately.  I also like that it builds the long run to 15 miles because I putter out during the last couple of miles of the race and need to build my endurance.  I'm not sure what to make of the speed work aspect of it.  Any feedback would be much appreciated.  If you know of any other plans that might work for me please let me know!

Upcoming Races: Run as One 4M (4/24) * Japan Run 4M (5/8) * Brooklyn Half (5/21) 

Toronto

Seven Deadly Shins

Looks OK to me.  You can do cutbacks yourself every 4 weeks - Just reduce your long run distance to previous 4-week period's level.

I have never done two-mile cruise intervals; I prefer uninterrupted tempo runs instead, but that would work too.

good luck!

Docket_Rocket

I think 18 weeks is too long for a HM training but it looks OK.  Check the Ryan Hall plans (long one has more mileage).  I have heard good things about it.  Another one to check is the Hanson's HM plans.

Damaris

As part of the 2024 London Marathon, I am fundraising for VICTA, a charity that helps blind and visually impaired children. My mentor while in law school, Jim K (a blind attorney), has been a huge inspiration and an example of courage and perseverance. Please consider donating.

Fundraising Page

kristin10185

Skirt Runner