Beginners and Beyond

Run for the Lakes HM RR (Read 40 times)

Brrrrrrr

Uffda

Hello, my name is Andrew and I have been a running for 2 years and 3 months. This is my race report for the Run for the Lakes Half Marathon on 4/27/13.

Short Version: I ran ok, had an 8 min 10 sec PR and went sub 2 hr for the first time. Missed my "A" goal by 5 minutes and came away with bittersweet feeling. Didn't really train for rolling hills, so it shouldn't surprise me that I didn't nail my goal. I should just suck it up, and get ready for the next race.

Long Version:
    Background: I don't have the talent that some runners are born with. 2011 consisted of 5k, 8k and 10k training just to be able to run the distance. In January 2012 I started training for my first HM in May, 2012 with a goal of finishing. I did finish that race in 2:16, which isn't bad for a first timer. I ran two more HMs last year, the last of which setting my previous PR of 2:01:20. That was set on 10/20/12.

Since that race I've dropped 10 lbs and have took up a challenging HM training program. I set my goals for the year in January and by March I had already reached my 5k goal time. At that point I decided to push my goals a bit more for the rest of the year.

I planned my HM training around my goal race which is happening on 5/18/13. I started training the first week of Feburary with a 15 week plan. I did peak in miles the second week of April with 53.

About the race: Obviously last weekend wasn't 5/18. My wife wanted to go to her friend's place about 2.5 hours away for some crafting for her wedding, and DD and I were to go with. She tempted my by saying this HM was going on and she'd watch our DD in the morning and I could run the race and then I could watch her in the afternoon and she could do that crafting thing. Ok, twisted my arm.