Beginners and Beyond

Reassessing Goals... (Read 139 times)

LRB

how long would one need to sit out? 

It's hard for me to say as well.  I ran through knee and shin pain two months into my running career before finally attributing the problem to the type of shoes I wore (Nike Shox).

I decided not to run through ITB pain and voluntarily took five weeks off.

I took two weeks off for achilles tendonitis, which only allowed me to run my goal event slower than planned.  After my event, I took seven weeks off and it healed.

During those seven weeks, I also rested my hip which was a problem for me as well.  That pain resumed the day I started running again.

So yes, each injury and how it affects each runner is unique, which is why we always say make the best decision for you.

kristin10185

Skirt Runner

I just started running in 2012 so by all means take what I say with a grain of salt, I am a Noob.  But last week I had to make the difficult decision to DNS a 10K race I was really looking forward to due to ITB issues, and the decision was reached through advice from people in this forum, "real life" friends who run, and friends who are physical therapists. I sacrificed the race for the bigger picture of what I wanted out of 2013. I had already been sidelined most of January, and I didn't want to lose February too, as that would REALLY set back spring racing season. So I benched myself. It SUCKED but I honestly think itwas the right decision for me.  I've had a lot of time off (3 weeks straight of no running at all, and only 2 runs of 1.5 miles since the end of December) and in this time I've really worked on A) healing the injury and B) preventing it from coming back. For me, that has involved doctor visits, icing, foam rolling, cardio crosstraining on the elliptical and bike, lots of hip, core and leg strengthening exercises, fixing my form, and getting fitted for new shoes. And not running for awhile whole I did all these things. Once again, I am a noob, and differ