Beginners and Beyond

Update and "runniversary" (Read 80 times)

kristin10185

Skirt Runner

So I decided that today I would "celebrate" my 2 year "runniversary." I don't actually  know the exact date. I know it was the first or second week in August. My first 5K was October 13th, 2012 and I started somewhere around 2 months before the race. But I got a coupon from Road Runner Sports today wishing me a happy anniversary as a VIP. I know I joined RRS VIP program to get free shipping and 20% off my very first order of "running stuff" right after I started training so we are calling my "runniversary" today. I am watching The Spirit of the Marathon II for the first time, and thinking of you guys so I thought I would drop in and say hello.

Did I fall off the planet these past couple months? Kind of, yes. The running planet at least. I had a really really tough half marathon on June 1st. I had major stomach problems, it was really hot, and I was just so so slow and it kind of killed my spirits a little. Hoping for a boost from the Baltimore 10 Miler on June 14th I went into it with a good attitude but experienced a similar result, and I finished almost 15 minutes slower than I had last year. After that race, I just needed a break. I don't know if it was burnout, just hating the heat, just being really disheartened by 3 terrible races in a row (2 weeks before the June 1st HM I had a 10K where I badly missed a goal that I was dying to get) but I just needed to stop training for a little. I have been running here and there, but no time goals, no training plan, no races (except the Giants 5K that I did with my dad for the 2nd year in a row). Mostly I have been running like 8 miles a week, 2-3 short runs (5 miles max per run), sometimes without a Garmin, and mostly with a slower friend who is just starting out. I just needed to have fun for a bit.

But..... I have a half September 14th (that crept up fast!) so I am really trying to get back at it again!