Beginners and Beyond

Non-running workouts, simple routine to get a bit of muscle? (Read 88 times)

ninian

Hi everyone, been a while since I've posted but I always lurk.

I recently got a job that affords me to work from home the majority of the time, I live in a condo building that has a gym and pool. In about 7 years of living here I have only visited the gym once. I've been running pretty consistently for over a year now and have dropped to about 155LBS (I am 5'11). I'm happy with my weight but I am getting a bit too skinny, I don't have a great deal of fat left but would like to get some more muscle in the upper body.

Anyhow, to cut to the point and stop rabbling I am going to try and get to the gym on my lunch breaks 3 days a week or so for about ~30 minutes. What are some things I should do? Anyone have any similar routines to share? I have no clue or experience when it comes to this type of workout, I have always been a cardio guy. Can't find a whole lot of examples on the internet that work with running.

Thanks!

Mmmmm...beer

Since you're working from home, you could buy a pullup bar to hang in a doorway and do pullups and pushups.  Just those two exercises are great for the upper body.  Can't help you on a weight routine, since all I do are pushups and pullups.  Helps me build/maintain good upper body strength and it's easy to do at home.

-Dave

My running blog

Goals | sub-18 5k | sub-3 marathon 2:56:46!!

Docket_Rocket

I do pushups, pullups, situps and squats every day.  If I have time from running, I try to do a more organized weight training but most of the time, I only have time for those 4.

The good thing about working from home is that you can do sets of these throught the day.

Damaris