Beginners and Beyond

What happens when Lily runs the medio maraton de Cancun... (sort of an RR) (Read 90 times)

happylily

Disclaimer: My RRs are long and this one is no exception. I know that it will sound more like a trip report than a true race report. And I know that I race like a monkey. It's not that I want to make a mockery of running (I have too much respect for our sport for that), it's just that I don't take my own racing seriously enough. I just want to be happy when I race, nothing more... I'm well aware that I'm not very good at it (racing). But because it brings me joy, just like traveling does, I like to write about both when I can. I apologize in advance and I will completely understand if you decide to skip this RR.

INTRO

Last August, I bought two plane tickets to Cancun, Mexico, for my SO and myself, thinking that it would be fun to run the Cancun marathon on December 6th. At the time, I didn't know that I would end up running 2 marathons two weeks apart, one month before the Cancun race. After running NYCM, my second marathon, I had a hard time recovering completely. I felt tired and missed a lot of runs. I also had unusual symptoms, such as dizziness and blurred vision. One week before flying to Mexico, I went for my scheduled appointment with my cardiologist and received the news that what he initially thought was lung damage that had stabilized since my heart surgery 5 years ago, may in fact be something called Eisenmenger's Syndrome and is still progressing. I went home, read about Eisenmenger's Syndrome, and decided that I did not like that condition. So I rebelled by not running at all and I went into manic eating mode. I gained about 10 lbs in a short time. Looking back, now, I'm not very proud of my wallowing in self-pity...