Beginners and Beyond

An excellent reason to read labels on what you eat/drink (Read 609 times)

Docket_Rocket

Well said.

I'm late to the party as usual (and btw, it's DD for straight coffee, but SBUX for my fancy-schmancy latte drinks) but here it goes anyway -

I'm a teacher and work with a low-income population, many of whom speak either no or very little English.  These kids parents work 2-3 jobs and are struggling to get by.  You can call them stupid all you want, but when they either don't read the language, do speak English but have low literacy skills, or are half dead asleep on their feet by the time they make it to the grocery store, you can't tell me that it's their own fault for being duped by the food & beverage companies.  They're just hoping and praying to be able to afford something to nourish their children, and when there's a coupon for $2 off that cereal that says it's made with whole grain, and there was a nifty commercial on tv talking all about how it was heart-healthy...what do you think they're going to choose?

Not because they're stupid, but because they're poor and exhausted and busy and illiterate.  And the food & beverage companies know these things perfectly well and are preying on them.

Damaris

As part of the 2024 London Marathon, I am fundraising for VICTA, a charity that helps blind and visually impaired children. My mentor while in law school, Jim K (a blind attorney), has been a huge inspiration and an example of courage and perseverance. Please consider donating.

Fundraising Page

Indeed. It costs more to eat healthily than it does to eat poorly. The food and beverage industries do exploit the poor with the aid of government subsidies. Cheap, unhealthy food is cheap because the government is artificially sustaining it.