Beginners and Beyond

Kinvaras suitable for half marathon & training? (Read 98 times)

Antipodean

I have been wearing Saucony Kinvara 3s for a couple of months now and I love them! It seems the 4mm drop really suits me. I had always been in more traditional shoes before (Brooks glycerin for a while) and had a few niggles, which miraculously disappeared when I changed to the kinvaras. Now I'm triaing for my first half marathon (Sept 29) and I need a new pair of shoes. I want to buy some Kinvara 4s, which my LRS have a sale on right now. But the other day a guy from my running club recommended I get a less minimalist pair of shoes to run long runs and the half in, but I feel fine in my kinvaras. I have done a long run of just under 10 miles in them already. Any recommendations/experiences to share?

I have only ever had one pair of running shoes at a time, but now that I'm running 5 days a week I feel justified in getting a second pair. My husband just doesn't get why one pair doesn't last me for years... sigh. He'll just have to deal with it.

Julie

"It's not the mountain we conquer, but ourselves."

~ Sir Edmund Hillary

Mmmmm...beer

I've gone 2.5 hours in my Kinvara 3s and felt great (18 miles).  Also ran my PR half in a pair of Kinvara 2s with no issues.  I was rotating Kinvaras and Cortanas for training, but my Cortanas are toast and I haven't replaced them yet, so I'm doing all of my training in Kinvaras now.  So I say if they're not giving you any problems so far up to 10 miles, keep going and see how they work out for you.  Smile

-Dave

My running blog

Goals | sub-18 5k | sub-3 marathon 2:56:46!!

Mmmmm...beer

Double post, need more coffee. Smile

-Dave

My running blog

Antipodean

Enjoy that coffeee and thanks for the advice. I think I'll be fine in the Kinvaras. I forgot to say I transitioned very easily to them. I just need some reassurance and to see that others do this.