Beginners and Beyond

Don't run your race before you run your race? (Read 125 times)

Brilliant

I don't remember exactly when/where I saw the piece of advice in my thread title, but I'm pretty sure it was here.  With that said, I plan to run my first marathon next year.  I have a friend who wants me to sign up for another marathon 5 weeks prior as "practice."  I can't imagine anything more damaging to any training plan (by the time I recovered from the "practice" marathon it would be time to taper for the "real" marathon).  I picture myself crashing & burning during the "practice" race, and ending up not being able to do my planned race.

She has sown seeds of self-doubt in me - "You won't know if you're ready unless you do this."  Please tell me I can safely ignore her.  Does any training plan except Galloway's suggest running marathon distance to train for the marathon distance?

Jack K.

uʍop ǝpᴉsdn sǝʇᴉɹʍ ʇI

Don't do it.

SheCan

I'm far from an expert here, but I know for myself, I wouldn't have been up to running my first 2 marathons 5 weeks apart.  IF I were going to do both, I'd do the debut marathon as my goal race, that I trained for, and and the 2nd one only if I felt up to it after the first.

I love my friends to death, but they don't always know what's best for me.  Sometimes i have to make those decisions just for myself. Please don't let yourself be pressured into something you're not comfortable with.

Cherie

"We do not become the people who this world needs simply by turning our backs on anyone we don’t like, trust, or deem healthy enough to be in our presence. "  ---- Shasta Nelson

Does any training plan except Galloway's suggest running marathon distance to train for the marathon distance?

I am not an expert, but I'm pretty sure no.

Although it would seem there really shouldn't be a problem to do it at a very slow pace. But probably easier said than done, once you pin that bib to yourself.

Dave

Brrrrrrr

Uffda