Beginners and Beyond

Military Can't March at Boston this Year (Read 111 times)

FreeSoul87

Runs4Sanity

http://www.runnersworld.com/boston-marathon/military-cant-march-at-boston-this-year

I find it disappointing and if I was a soldier I'd be pissed, but what are your thoughts on this?

*Do It For Yourself, Do It Because They Said It Was Impossible, Do It Because They Said You Were Incapable*

PRs

5k - 24:15 (7:49 min/mile pace) 

10k - 51:47 (8:16 min/mile pace)

15k -1:18:09 (8:24 min/mile pace)

13.1 - 1:53:12 (8:39 min/mile pace)

26:2 - 4:14:55 (9:44 min/mile)

#artbydmcbride

In most years there are 20 to 30 ruck marchers.    When registration for Tough Ruck closed on January 31, Tough Ruck had 746 registrants

So they have concocted their own little event that piggybacks on the marathon course during the Boston Marathon?  I am amazed they have been getting away with it for this long.  I say, run a race, qualify, pay your entry fee, then on race day if you want to dress up in uuniform and do the course with a 40 pound pack, go for it.  Of course now the pack should be clear plastic, so we can check it isn't a bomb.

Runners run

happylily

Being a mid-pack runner at Boston last year, I felt trap in a sea of people, on a narrow country road. There were times I was actually scared I would trip, especially in the first half, before we started losing runners to the hills. The reason I'm not going this year is because of the increase in the field. Anything they can do to reduce the number of people who are not supposed to be there in the first place is ok with me. If I were a soldier, I wouldn't be pissed, I would understand.

PRs: Boston Marathon, 3:27, April 15th 2013

Cornwall Half-Marathon, 1:35, April 27th 2013

18 marathons, 18 BQs since 2010

RSX