Beginners and Beyond

Grandma’s Marathon Really Long Race Report (Read 108 times)

BruceD555

Short Story:

4th Marathon

3:24:19 (BQ and a PR by ~2 minutes)

798/5613 Overall

669/3271 Men

74/374 AG

Getting There:

This is marathon #2 of 2013 and exactly 8 weeks after I ran the Christie Clinic Marathon in Champaign. At the start of the year, I started training using a modified Pfitz 18/70 plan with added runs on Monday and miles bumped up to max out at 80. After the Illinois marathon, I took a couple of weeks as reverse taper and then got back into training using one of Pfitz bridge plans for multiple marathons. Normally, I’m a “by-the-book” kind of guy but in training for Grandma’s the final three weeks were anything but “normal.”

The third week would normally be the start of taper for Pfitz, but that was the 2013 Running game All-Star week and I ended up running 101.1 miles that week. The next week I had a crazy stressful week from work that ended up with me flying to LA and then spending two days of a planned vacation writing a report for that case. This past week the craziness continued at work and I’ve been getting less sleep than normal. So, this taper was characterized by: run more than you should … sleep less than normal … have extra stress in your life … and make sure to do lots of air travel to boot. Great!

On Friday two good friends from church and I drove up to Duluth and by the time we got there the temperature had dropped more than 20 degrees and Superior/Duluth was a beautiful 58 degrees but foggy. (For the whole weekend, the air temp and dew point temp were basically the same)

Allegedly, Duluth is located along Lake Superior. However, I don’t think I ever saw the lake so it could have been almost anywhere I was running. Wink We went to the race expo and ate at the race spaghetti dinner that night and then drove to our hotel. I went out for a short 2-3 mile shakeout run and then went to bed about 10.

Marathon Race Report