Beginners and Beyond

During a HM or FM, do you set a plan or just wing it? (Warning, a bit long) (Read 144 times)

FreeSoul87

Runs4Sanity

I definitely want to run a negative split for the Half Marathon next weekend, and I've found a few websites that can help but I don't know if I should stick to a plan or just wing it and go by feel. Even if I did aim for a plan, I know I will most likely say fuck it and end up winging it anyways. I don't think I am disciplined enough to stick to a pace plan, I think it would actually screw me up............. though it's fun going through and setting split times and stuff.

I personally love negative splits, but I started out with them because I didn't have much confidence with my running so I was scared that if I started out too fast then I'd bonk. But at the end of my races I would feel unsatisfied because I would then realize I could have given it more than I did. I've been running since 2010, I think the only race that wasn't a negative split was my Hearts on Fire 5k, I stayed pretty close to a 9:10 min/mile pace. I think my goal for this Half is for the first 6 miles keep it between 10:30-11:00 min/mile pace (mainly to save energy for the Holy Hill that I still am not sure about), the hill is a steady incline from mile 6 to mile 8, so that is where I can't quite fit a plan because I don't know how I will handle the hill. After mile 8, depending on how I feel I want to aim for between 10:00 - 10:30 min/mile but closer to 10:00 min/mile, and then once I reach mile 10 if I've got the energy, I want to kick it between 9:00-9:30 min/mile while steadily increasing to the finish. But again, this all depends on how I feel and that stupid hill (I hate not knowing how big a hill is or what I am up against), it wouldn't be a big deal if it was like the two Indy HMs this Fall, which are known for the relatively flat course.