Beginners and Beyond

What major running goals have you reached (and what is still out there)? (Read 188 times)

LRB

I almost forgot.  One of my big goals after I had been running for a few years was to win a race outright.  

I have thought about that, but it is totally impractical at my current 5k time.

I came in second overall once but there were only like two people racing, me and some dude in a wheelchair.  Needless to say he smoked my ass!

Seriously though, with the volume of events in my area, if I am ever able to run sub-20:00....

well, let's just say that I would like to have that chance someday as well.

Awood_Runner

Smaller By The Day

LRB - There's a free 5K in Livonia, MI every weekend.  I could make a medal, and we could just show up every weekend until one of us wins it.  The sub-20 guys have to take at least one weekend off.  Don't they?

Improvements

Weight 100 pounds lost

5K 31:02 Sept. 2012 / 23:36 Sept. 2013 (Same Course)

10K 48:59 April 2013

HM 2:03:56 Nov. 2012 / 1:46:50 March 2013

MARATHON 3:57:33 Nov. 2013

Just B.S.

I guess the definition of "major" will vary greatly from person to person.

As someone who started running in May 2000, to help lose the last of the 40+ lbs I had carried for an

extra 8 years after the birth of our last son my goal was only to get to a point where I didn't hate running.

Did my first half in 2003 at age 41. Hubby and son joined me the next year and the rest is history. Through the

years we have inspired each other. It's a great thing.

I honestly never started any type of goal setting in regard to times until the last 2-3 years.  And with lots of had work

and probably some luck I have achieved each on the very first attempt.

Half # 25 is coming this weekend. 

Sub 2 - first time in 2010, again in Oct 2012 -set PR of 1:57:44 at age 50 

5 fulls since age 48.   PR of 4:20 set Oct 2012 at age 50