Couch to 5K and One Hour Runners

Questions about starting C25K after running a half marathon (kinda long post...) (Read 314 times)

psycrunner

Okay, Gang....I need some suggestions for starting my C25K plan. Here's the deal: I started "running" using the Galloway Run/Walk program in January 06 after having lost about 80 pounds. In April 06 I started training for the October Chicago marathon. For a variety of reasons I only completed 17 miles during the Chicago Marathon, but hey, it was the funnest 17 mile training run I'd ever had! In January 07 (having now lost about 100 pounds or so) I started training (still using the Galloway method) for the Country Music Half Marathon, which I completed last weekend. But I run/walk really slowly, so the half took me just over 3 hours to complete (average 14:30 min/mile pace). Also, I'm not really losing any more weight (I bounce around in a 10 pound range) and I still have about 50 or so pounds to lose. So my thought was that I would start the C25K program and aim to run the 3 miles consistently at a pace of about 10 min/mile. I know this might require that I repeat weeks during the C25K program, and I'm okay with that. When I've done speed work during my run/walk program in training for the half, I've run at a highest pace of about 9:15 min/mile, but for only 1-2 minutes at a time for 45 minutes total. I've had no problems and no injuries in using the Galloway training program, but would like to be running faster and running without walking, for the most part. I'm also hoping that running for less time but at a faster pace will help boost my metabolism more, especially since I won't have to be eating to support the long training runs required in preparing for marathon (or half marathon) running. Does this make sense to you more experienced people? I realized about halfway through the training for the half that I've really gone at the process of becoming a runner in a very backwards way--given that my first goal race was a ma