Couch to 5K and One Hour Runners

Calf Pain - HELP! (Read 184 times)

I made a very big mistake this week. A co-worker asked me to go with her to a step aerobics class on Saturday morning at 8am. Sure! Sounds fun. So I went and it was TOUGH. I've never done step before and by the end I was wiped out. I was a little sore, but felt like I had a great workout. It was my scheduled day to run C25K week 4 run 3 and I figured I'd be up for it no problem. Spent the day with my family which included taking our son to the transportation museum and a LOT of walking. I was a little sore but nothing major. Dropped the little one off at mother-in-law's house for the night and went home. My husband was going to go running with me. We left around 7pm and did a different route than I usually do. I normally run a flat circuit around a school parking lot or on an indoor track at the local rec center. This time we ran through the neighborhood which involves quite a few hills. By the end I could tell my pace was slower than usual (not by a large margin though - only about a tenth of a mile less than my other week 4 runs) and I was definitely tired. But still nothing major...or so I thought. Came home, changed clothes, sat down in front of the computer to log the run. When I tried to stand up, my legs declared a revolution against my body. My calves are in AGONY. All day yesterday (Sunday) I was in misery. I can barely walk or move. I am following the RICE method to treat my legs and that seems to be helping, but today I am still incredibly sore. My question is how long should I let my legs recover before I try to continue my training program? Should I start with week 5 or should I go back and try to do week 4 again if I miss a week of running? If I can't run for several days/week what type of cross training is it safe to do to keep from regressing? I feel like an idiot that I went running because I didn't want to miss a day despite a little voice in my head telling me I should let my bo