Couch to 5K and One Hour Runners

Week 1, Day 1 - How hard was it? (Read 647 times)

I'm curious how everyone else responded to week 1, day 1?

I started today, after having been VERY sedentary for the past few years. (VERY SEDENTARY! I was a truck driver up until a week and a half ago; so literally the only exercise I got was walking from the truck to the truck stop...) In preparation, for the last two weeks I've been walking at least 45 minutes a day at a pretty good pace.

There was NO WAY I could have held a conversation during my work out, even though I was moving PAINFULLY slow! But, I completed it. And I feel great afterwards!

So how did the first day and even the first week go for you?

Jac 

Wingz

Professional Noob

Ya, pretty much like that.  It took me about three weeks to figure out that even though I thought I was slow that I needed to slow down even more.  You might be running at your walking pace... or even slower... to start.  Everybody starts from a different place.  It doesn't mean that you'll have to be "that slow" forever... just that your body needs an extra gentle start.  And that's okay - as long as you're moving forward, you're moving in the right direction!  Welcome aboard!

Roads were made for journeys...

jb944

Chicago RnR 1/2 Marathon

I thought I was going to die that first day.  That was 2 years ago this Saturday.  On August 2 of this year I did my first half marathon.  It does get easier.  Just keep it very slow to start - you need to be able to talk while you run.  if you can't, you are going too fast.  Good luck!

My Little Pony hair.

It sucked.  I sucked.  It's what, 60 seconds of running?  And I'd be there staring at the timer on the treadmill after 30 seconds and hoping that I didn't collapse and and die before the podcast told me I could walk again.