Charlotte, NC area runners

Fastest 5K course in Charlotte (Read 345 times)

Are we there yet?

While I am not very experienced in running all the courses in the Charlotte area.. I remember the GREEKFEST 5K (August) in the Dillworth area being very fast!

Does anyone have a preference of course that they feel is "PR friendly?"

old-runner

The Greekfest course is fast but most people feel like the Runway 5k, which is almost completely flat, is faster. I'm convinced though that the very fastest 5k around is the Santa Scramble in Concord, where you park your car and ride a bus UP to the start, then run DOWN through the middle of town back to where you parked. It's not all downhill but there's way more down than up.

Here are my times for all three races last year...

Greekfest -- 21:13

Runway 5k -- 20:24

Santa Scramble -- 19:51

Here's a write-up I did a while back about which was the fastest between the Runway 5k and Santa Scramble...

http://old-runner.com/2009/12/16/whats-the-fastest-5k-in-the-charlotte-area/

I liked the Summer Breeze course around freedom park as well, after the initial steep hill (which most won't notice) and a longer but gentle uphill at mile 2, the downhill finish is nice.