Low HR Training

"Expose Your Slow Twitchers" Daily Maffetone and/or Low-HR Training Reports (Read 23290 times)

5 Miles today after 10 yesterday. Todays run: 5 miles Time: 45:01 Pace: 9:00 HR AVE: 132 Max: 137 I am relatively new to MAF running. Fairly new to running altogether. Is it common that my fastest runs seem to come on the day following long runs?
      No run for me today. *sigh* My lower calf/achilles acted up in the last half mile of a 10 mile easy run yesterday. Completely out of the blue. Now, I did use a brand new pair of shoes, but it's the same model I rotate 4 pairs of shoes with, and have logged 2500 miles on. I'm hoping that caused it. I was just getting ready to hit the next 5 to 6 weeks aggressively before my taper, too. Bleh. I'm taking tomorrow off as well, and will hopefully resume an easy week this week on Tuesday. This is the most concerning injury/pain I've had in 17 months of running. I don't like it. Angry Keep the HR in check everyone! Smile
        12/22/07: 8.08 miles / 1:18:32 / 9:44 / 152 AHR 12/23/07: 5.64 miles / 51:27 / 9:08 / 150 AHR Shins are a little sore after this weekend so tomorrow will be off. We'll see about Christmas day. I hope to break 30 miles for the first time next week.

sean

run-easy-race-hard

I'm in rebuilding mode since my last marathon on 11/24. I did very little running for the few weeks afterwards and I've just gotten back up to 70 mpw this week, with my first 20 since the marathon today. ~10:30 minute/mi avg pace @ 135 avg HR. MAF is about 147-150 or more for me. Just hoping to regain my conditioning before Rocky Raccoon 100 miler at the beginning of Feb. Here's my run: http://trail.motionbased.com/trail/activity/4634042
          labhiker