Low HR Training

Marathon training schedule (Read 371 times)

radsb

I'm a beginner runner. I began a MAF training regimen about a month ago and have gotten good progress. I'm thinking of targetting a marathon at the end of september. How do I integrate the MAF training into the typical marathon training plans that go by distance and ramp towards the race date? Right now I'm running by time.

C-R

Keeping at MAF during training is not so hard. So I wouldn't worry about that. Most of us here have trained and completed a marathon on just MAF or below miles.

There are a couple of books on marathon training while focusing on time vs. distance. Can't recall right now but something makes me think it "How to train for your first marathon". Anyway, look around the library for some choices. It should be there or something like it. If not, take a normal plan and convert miles to times based on your pace.

I have a couple of questions  you said late September. So you're giving 5 months of training. Are you racing, running or run/walking it? How much time per week are you running and what is your longest time out per week? Do you participate in any other fitness regimes or sports? Where I'm going with this is that first marathon is pretty challenging and you should build up to 40 miles per week or the time equivalent to handle the extra stress of marathon prep. Its doable but something to consider.

"He conquers who endures" - Persius
      "Every workout should have a purpose. Every purpose should link back to achieving a training objective." - Spaniel

http://ncstake.blogspot.com/

radsb