Low HR Training

Some questions about LHR training - help! (Read 372 times)

machinebaard

Hi all, I have some questions about low heart rate training, which i started some weeks ago. I like it very much Smile However, when i started training at MAF-10 to MAF, my pace was between 12 - 13 minutes a mile, but now it has become 13.5 - 14.5 minutes a mile. Also it looks likes it takes far more effort. I just don't get it. I am starting to feel a little miserable about this slowdown. It is even hard to keep the HR below MAF. Also I have this problem with some minor injuries, I have some pain in both knees that comes and goes Confused, sometimes pain in the ankles, achilles tendons, while i haven't increased my mileage very much.. nor my long run.. The pain in the knees is there in the beginning of the run, and then it disappears... but pain in the ankles comes after several miles and won't go away.. Pain is 3/4 on a scale from 1 to 10. The muscles don't hurt Smile 67 kg / 188cm / 18 yo / PR 25:50 on 5K , 58:53 on 10K, 6:40 on 1.5K So my questions are: 1 - Is this slowdown from 12-13 tot 13.5-14.5 normal? Will I get faster soon? Is something wrong Sad? 2 - Is it normal that it looks like you put more effort in it Sad? 3 - Is it normal that your knees/ankles/ whatever are a little sore? How long will this soreness last? Thanks Smile
    TJR

How are you determining you MAF? I found that when I was using 180 - age I was still having issues with injuries, etc. When I went with 180 - age - 5 (for being injured, etc.) things quickly improved for me. Maffentone encourages being conservative in your MAF calculation. When in doubt, go with a lower MAF.
      BeeRunB