Low HR Training

Antihistamine (Loratin/Benadryl) and Steroids (prednisone) Reak Havoc on HR and MAF (Read 388 times)

Kenny B.

I am new to MAF in my 4th week and it has been interesting to say the least. My Maff is 144. I decided because of the few years of running including some marathons to stay in MAFF 144 +/- 5 for my training runs. The first week I was running around 10:50ish pace on most of my runs give or take The second week around the same pace The third week I saw a differnce down to around 10:35 The current week (4th week) Things went to hell. I developed a contact dermatitis I believe from a swimming pool. So I had to go on Prednisone (Steroid) and Loratin an Antihistamine. My first dose was this past Sunday afternoon. Well Since then my runs have been awfully slow. My resting HR shot up from 46 avg to 52-54. So as a result my HR as been high at the start of each run. So to stay in the MAF range I had to slow down. Tue 11:36 5 miles Wed 11:04 8 miles Thu 10:56 4 miles all at MAF +2 or +3. Yes it is seems to be coming down again but I am not thrilled with this. Yesterday I think will be my last time I take the Antihistamine (which I think does cause High HR) and the Prednison I come off of this Sunday. Next week I will be doing a MAF Test and I hope to have all this crap out of my system. I am only folloing MAF for 12 weeks so every week is important.
    "A true master is not suffering, but simply experiencing a set of circumstance that you call insufferable."
    GMoney