Low HR Training

Gas exchange analysis advice please (Read 581 times)

Shondek

Greetings fellow maffers,

Hope you are all well and breathing through your noses SmileThis is indeed a fine forum.

I am new to this and would just like to say I have started low heart rate training for the last 3 weeks now,and I must admit I am really enjoying it in spite of strange looks from people who have seen me running for years.

I am however not sure what my Maf should be.I initially worked it out at 180-50+5 as I have been running 6 to 7 days a week for 30 years.My aim is to run a sub 3hr marathon at Edinburgh(UK) next may.

I do suffer from an over active thyroid so I should take 5 off and my tendon under my ankle has been sore since april this year not sure if I banged it or twisted it anyway that's another 5 off,which bring my zone in at 110-120

Below is a sort of fartlek i did this morning with a 15min warm up and warm down..a long way away from sub 3 marathon.

I wonder if you could please help me with the following questions:

1)What in your experience is the optimum time (hours per week) to train for a marathon?I have usually worked with 3 times your average daily distance is your collapse point.ie mid 60 miles a week but I usually do 80 odd ,which would probably take me 17+ hours a week. 

A trifle extreme..!!

2)Unsure and to shut up my pals who say I am not getting a training effect I've decided to fork out £120 and get a vo2max test done but specifically asking for a substrate-utilization analysis.Before I go I would like to ask you if there is anything I should ask the bloke to make sure he knows what he is doing because I most definitely do not want to come away with just a vo2 max number..

3)I have read here that it can take up to 300-350 miles under maf before you see an improvement can anyone concur with this?