Low HR Training

Noob runner - learning by mistakes (Read 39 times)

First, I want to say thank you to those here who take the time to share their experiences and encourage each other to be healthier runners.  I've been lurking for a few weeks and you guys (and all of the stickies) have been very helpful.  If I could, I'd like to share my story briefly and get some feedback on my plans from the low HR community.

I'm a noob runner, and a noob "athlete" for that matter.  I'm 37 and prior to last summer had never done any kind of exercise with any kind of consistency.  I was overstressed at work, felt like crap in general, and was about 40 pounds over my weight from high school/college.  My best friend enouraged me to get a road bike last May, then I was hooked, getting in 3 to 4 rides a week.  Then sometime in Aug/Sept decided to give running a try, too, and loved it.  Was running 10-12 mpw when I felt the competitive urge and started signing up for 5Ks in Oct/Nov, running 23:30 in my first race, then 21:30 in my second race.  Then my mistakes became painfully obvious...I ran too fast, too soon.  In my third race, I thought "this is easy, why not try to break 20:00?"  Haha, seems so stupid in hindsight to have tried that.  Suffice it to say that I did not break 20:00 or even PR that day, instead straining my right calf pretty badly (grade 2 strain by my diagnosis) due to a functional leg length discrepancy from pelvic misalignment.  I was starting to look like a casualty of running.  Kept unsuccessfully trying to run on a partially healed calf in Nov/Dec before admitting that I needed to take a complete month off from running to heal.  Found a good chiropractor who has my alignment issue now straightened out.