Low HR Training

MAF progress update + MaX HR question (Read 371 times)

Hey guys,

I've been a member of this group for a while, but I don't post very often. I prefer to read what others write Smile

I've been running for a couple of years now, although not as regularly as I'd like. For most of those 2 years, I've respected my MAF number of 180-33=147 (33yo). When I first started running, my average pace was 14min/mile. Now, on a good day, where its nice and cool, I can average in the mid 9s to low 10s. I suppose if my nutrition was better, alcohol intake was less, didn't work shifts, was more consistent, I'd probably be seeing much better results. In other words, if I wasn't half assing it. However, for me, this is incredible progress, and LHR training was a big part of this.

So for the past 2 years I've been training completely under my MAF, without doing any speed work. I'm signed up for my first race ever in Sept which is the Montreal HM, so I've decided to do a little speed to work on my anaerobic system. I'm also feeling like I'm at somewhat of a plateau too so hopefully this will kick my training up a notch. So, in order to figure out what my training zones will be, I went out today and did a maximal heart rate test, and I'm wondering if I came anywhere close to my MHR. This is where I need your opinions.

Using 220-age, I arrive at 187, so I estimated that as my MHR. I warmed up for 12 mins at MAF, and then ran for one minute at 160bpm. Then ran one minute at 170. Then ran one minute at 180. At this point, my HR was only slowly inching up and I had to really kick it up a notch. The last two mins I ran at a full sprint, and the highest I was able to get my HR was 189. During those last 2 mins, my HR was going up at a pace of maybe 1 beat for every 20 secs, and I had to earn every one of them. I don't know if I had anything left in me to make it go over 189.