Low HR Training

Finding your HR? (Read 35 times)

Chilerunner

Hi.Its my first thread so please go gently

Ive been running for about 5 years now.Im going for my 4th Marathon in April 2016,in Santiago de Chile.

Ive just purchased the Polar ft4.Its my first HRM.

My RHR is at 53 but Im finding it difficult to get my Max HR.Theres a lot of info out there but I dont know what one to decide on.Is it just that simple to deduct your age from 220?

The Polar website is recommending the Karvonen method.Is this a good method?

Does anyone have any experience following the Polar marathon plans?

Thanks for taking the time to read my message.

Gracias de Chile

BeeRunB

The 220 method is really inaccurate (sometimes10-20 beats off). If I used the 220 method my MHR would be 166 (it's really about 200). The best way to find MHR is to run for awhile then do some hard quarter mile sprints until you feel you can't get it any higher. It's okay to be a few beats lower than true max. At the end of a hard 5-10k race is a great way. You'll usually reach it sprinting that last half mile.

You can also get a V02max test somewhere that gives you Fat-burning info  and Anaerobic Threshold heart rate. Also,  you'll often get within 5 beats of MHR in such a test.  You can use the Fat-burning info to determine your MAF (see below). Using both the MAF and AT heart rates to train for aerobic, tempo, and interval work. MAF and AT heart rates are good to know as they are the points where the energy systems shift.

Other ways to HR train are The Maffetone Method which is described in the boilerplate sticky and you don't have to worry about MHR for aerobic training. The formula will put you in the general vicinity of the point where you first start to engage anaerobic fibers. It's not completely accurate for all ages, or for every individual but it gets you in a vicinity that is good for endurance building.

As for the Karvonen Formula it still relies on an inaccurate MHR calculation.

Chilerunner