Marathon Training and Discussions

Wow (Read 674 times)

Last post is from June, Willamona begs for some interaction..

My story...GR Marathon in October, little nervous about mileage, but aim is to finish. Have about 5-6  weeks left, other than a 20 miler what do you think, log is open to the public. Oh, the sarcastic, goood luck doesn't count.. What would you do between know and the faitful date in October?

John 

C-R

John - I'm no marathon expert only having recently reached double digits in completion. One thing I notice is you need more miles on your feet. Lots more than what your log shows. If you are aiming to finish without injury being a likely outcome, you should get to 40 miles per week as a base for about a couple of months prior to the run. This seems unlikely for you. What I would suggest is the Galloway Run/Walk method so you can finish and not hurt yourself. Pick a 4/1 ratio and have at it. Seriously, the marathon is tough and the last 6 miles will kick your butt and this is where injury becomes a real possibility if you are not trained well (personal experience talking)

5 -6 weeks may seem like a long time but it goes fast. However, I would try to put as many easy miles as possible under your belt. Easy means slow without injuring yourself. Walk if you need during these runs. Its time on your feet you need. For you a 20 is certainly needed just to get the experience.

Once you finish this one, you need to consider a program with more miles.

"He conquers who endures" - Persius
      "Every workout should have a purpose. Every purpose should link back to achieving a training objective." - Spaniel

http://ncstake.blogspot.com/

That was my intial thought too. My initial plan was to get to 45-50 miles per week, but life happened in June\July (moved). Started building mileage back up in August with 12 weeks to go, but it doesn't seem or feel like enough time to get in the correct amount of training. Still undecided if I will go thru with it or not.