Masters Running

Looking to join your group (Read 458 times)

Hi, I've just recently joined the RA site. It's awesome. I decided now was as good a time as any to dive into the forums. This on-line community is a bit new for me and will take a little getting used to which is funny since I'm a programmer. Anyway, I'm 43 and started running last July using the C25K. I ran my first 5K last fall and my second last week. I set PR's in both, but that was not hard as I'm pretty slow. Also, my mileage is miniscule compared to some of you folks. I don't mind though. I'd never been a runner before and still have a hard time considering myself one. But I figure if I can manage to get outside in single degree weather this past winter and hopscotch the sidewalks looking for a spot to plant my feet that is not covered in ice, I must be nuts, and will therefore hopefully fit right in. My goals for this year are to just stay a runner and to have fun. Hoping to get to know some of you better... Janet
    stumpy77

Trails are hard!

Welcome Janet--as one of the minuscule milers that hang out here, I can say that you'll be very welcomed on this board. Seems you have the main virtue needed to be a runner (and hang out here) so will fit in well. Wink We also have our own little sub-group of "newbies" (quotes because some of us have been doing it for a while, just having to keep starting over) that you're also more than welcome to join in. I have the same doubts about being a runner--most folks here say "do you get out and run?--then you're a runner". miles and times aren't terribly important. Have fun reading, and don't be (too) afraid to ask about the inside jokes. Kevin

Need a fast half for late fall.  Then I need to actually train for it.

Tramps