Masters Running

Spirit of Winter 5K - Bay City, MI (Read 237 times)

Summary: 26:51 for an 8:39 pace. This is about 30 seconds slower than last month's race on the same course. I was 39/55 OA and 3/5 in my AG. This was the third of three winter races in the last three months on the same course. I've been doing this series for four years and always see a bunch of my "running friends". There were at least a dozen that I talked to and know by name plus others that look familiar but I don't have a name to go with the faces. I got in a bit of pre-race visiting with a number of people. For the first time, they gave medals to the 25 or 30 who did all three races in the series this winter. I thought that was a nice touch. The temperature was about 12 degrees, there was a light breeze, and about half of the course was covered with packed snow/ice. At the start line, we were chatting and waiting for a few comments from the race director when we got a "go" without warning. The rushed start became quickly obvious as we cross a train track about 20 yards into the race and a train was coming. Since I didn't hear otherwise, I assume everyone beat the train. About half a mile into the course, Chris, who I haven't seen at other races but know from elsewhere caught me and, after a few steps passed me but didn't get far ahead. Since my last couple of runs have felt especially hard, I was concerned about how I would do. My pace for the first mile was about 8:12 which was ok but I could tell I was starting to fade. The second mile, my pace was about 8:40 and it felt hard. With about half a mile to go, I began to gain on Chris and passed him back. My pace for the last 1.1 miles was 8:38 and I was glad to be done. A group of us waited at the finish line to cheer in those behind us as we visited some more. After a little visiting inside, awards were presented and another enjoyable race experience was over. It was interesting looking over the results after the race. Most, but not all, were